Who are the 13 MPs who voted against the election?

In order for the Prime Minister to hold her early General Election she had to pass a motion in the Commons on the matter.

All opposition party leaders, from Corbyn to Sturgeon, spoke out in favour of an early election. However their leader’s support didn’t stop nine Labour MPs from voting against Mrs May’s motion. A further four MPs – three of whom are independent – also rejected a June 8 election.

So who are the parliamentary rebels who aren’t ready to put their job on the line just yet?


  • Ronnie Campbell, MP for Blyth Valley
  • Ann Clwyd, MP for Cynon Valley
  • Paul Farrelly, MP for Newcastle-under-Lyme
  • Jim Fitzpatrick, MP for Poplar and Limehouse
  • Clive Lewis, MP for Norwich South
  • Fiona Mactaggart, MP for Slough
  • Liz McInnes, MP for Heywood and Middleton
  • Dennis Skinner, MP for Bolsover
  • Graham Stringer, MP for Blackley and Broughton

Social Democratic and Labour Party (Northern Ireland)

  • Alasdair McDonnell, MP for Belfast South


  • Lady Hermon, MP for North Down
  • Natalie McGarry, MP for Glasgow East
  • Michelle Thomson, MP for Edinburgh West

The SNP abstained from voting. The party’s Westminster leader, Angus Robertson, said that his party believed in fixed-term parliaments, but would not stand in the way of the early General Election.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s